Sports Awards postponed, again

By: Nthako Majoro
Hits : 4134
Comments :0

As Mokalanyane dies

MASERU-The Lesotho Sport and Recreation and Commission (LSRC) was forced to postpone its first sports awards following the death of Chief Executive Officer, Kholoang 'Mirror' Mokalanyane.

The Lesotho Annual Sports Awards as they are dubbed, were supposed to have taken place on Saturday.

But because of Mokalanyane's passing the function was postponed.

Chief, as Mokalanyane was called by other people, passed away last week Friday, a day after former Lesotho Football Association (LeFA)' spokesperson Ts'iu Monne passed away.

"These sad news have forced us to postpone our awards ceremony once again, as you know that they were rescheduled before (owing to logistics)," said LSRC spokesperson Refiloe Maphallela in a media briefing last week.

Maphallela said as a result the function would be held on April 8 at the same venue in.

He also said this meant the voting for the awards nominees in certain categories such as Sports Star of the Year and Journalist of the Year, which were supposed to be closed this past Friday, had also been extended.

"Likewise the voting process was supposed to be closed on March 15 and owing to the situation they would also be extended.

"And it is for the benefit of the nominees to continue getting votes."

The awards coordinator, 'Malitsietsi Zwakala, on the other hand announced that new voting closing date would be March 31, a week before the new date for the function.

She said they would continue giving updates concerning the voting every Tuesday like they did before, with the last update day going to be on the March 28.

Lesotho international Boitumelo 'Queen' Rabale, was leading in the Sports Star of the Year category after the votes were counted last week.

The Bloemfontein Celtic captain was ahead with 53.41 percent. She was followed by Itumeleng Maseatile of dancesport with 25.95 and leading cyclist Phetetso Monese with 8.92 percent respectively.

Other awards categories include Sports School of the Year, Sports Team of the Year, Coach of the Year and Newcomer of the Year, among others.

leave a comment

Create Account

Log In Your Account