Nedbank 8 tournament resumes



MASERU – Action in the first edition of the Nedbank 8 tournament resumes this weekend when the last four remaining A Division teams go toe-to-toe tomorrow in the semi-finals of the cup competition at the Bambatha Tšita Sports Arena in Maseru.

The finals are scheduled for Sunday.

Tomorrow, Limkokwing University will open the day’s proceedings with a vital clash against Litšilo at 12h30, before Lithabaneng Golden concludes the day with what is expected to be a thrilling clash against CCX at 14h30.

Lithabaneng Golden head coach, Tankiso Chobokoane, told Public Eye this week that his team was ready for the semi-finals clash against CCX.

Chobokoane indicated that the fact that his team beat A-Division champions Lifofane FC in the quarter-finals had instilled confidence in his team and said he believed that “we are going to advance to the final”.

He said: “I have examined and studied the strengths and weaknesses of the teams in the semi-finals. The fact that we beat a team that drew four of its league matches and all other matches has given us more confidence.”

He concluded by indicating that they were a small team which did not even have supporters and said winning this tournament will give his team a boost.

Limkokwing University head coach, Ntlaloe David Ntlaloe, on the other hand, also indicated that he was aware of his rivals’ strengths and weaknesses.

“We have played Litšilo before and it is not a team that we are scared of. We beat them during the play-offs last season. We have a good plan now, and it is up to the players to execute the plan when they get into the filed on Saturday,” Ntlaloe said.

Lesotho Football Association (LeFA) announced that Nedbank had agreed to sponsor the off-season knockout to the tune of M750 000 over a period of three years, meaning M250 000 a year for each of the three years.

Lefa said winners of the Nedbank 8 will pocket M25 000, while the runners-up will pocket M20 000.

The third and the fourth teams will each collect M15 000 and M13 000 respectively.
The four quarter final losers will each receive M10 000 while M12 000 has been earmarked for match officials.

A Division is the second-highest league in Lesotho club football after the Premier League.

It is divided into two streams, one northern and another southern – each of which consists of 10 teams.

The winners of the two streams are automatically promoted to the Premier League but also play against each other in a “Champ of the Champs final” – the winner of which are crowned champions of the A Division.

A Division Management Committee (ADMACO), Public Relations Officer, Mothusi Letsie, said this week the Champ of Champs will be played on June 1.

“The A Division Champ of Champs decider between the two winners of North and Southern Stream, Lifofane and Lijabatho respectively, will be played on June 1, and M35 000 has been allocated for them. The winner will take home M20 000 while the loser will pocket M15 000,” said Letsie.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *